Blackhawks favored to repeat on 2016 Stanley Cup odds

The Chicago Blackhawks have won three Stanley Cups over the past six years, and with the NHL offseason now in full swing they have been listed at online sportsbook Bodog as the 7/1 betting favorite to repeat as the 2016 Stanley Cup champions.

The Blackhawks won the 2015 Stanley Cup on home ice, knocking out the Tampa Bay Lightning in six games to clinch the title and begin a dynasty debate for the franchise. And although Chicago might have to make some cap-related moves in the summer, their Toews-Kane-Keith core will be back to defend the title next season.

So who will be Chicago’s biggest challenger next season? According to the oddsmakers at Bodog it will be the New York Rangers, and not the Lightning. The Rangers are sitting as the early 8/1 second-favorites on the odds to win the 2016 Stanley Cup, with the Lightning a step back of them at 12/1.

The Anaheim Ducks, who fell to the Blackhawks in this past season’s Western Conference final, sit at 10/1 on the 2016 Stanley Cup odds, with the St. Louis Blues joining Tampa Bay at 12/1, and the Pittsburgh Penguins, Los Angeles Kings, Montreal Canadiens, and Minnesota Wild all set at 14/1.

The Boston Bruins and the Nashville Predators are both then at 16/1 odds, with the Washington Capitals at 18/1 odds, the New York Islanders at 22/1 odds, and the Winnipeg Jets at 25/1 odds. The Columbus Blue Jackets, Detroit Red Wings, and Edmonton Oilers are all at 33/1 on the 2016 Stanley Cup odds at Bodog.

The Arizona Coyotes, who might be booted from their home arena this summer due to a dispute with the city of Glendale, join the Buffalo Sabres and the Carolina Hurricanes as the 100/1 longshots on those NHL futures.

Odds to Win the 2016 Stanley Cup @ Bodog

Chicago Blackhawks 7/1
New York Rangers 8/1
Anaheim Ducks 10/1
St. Louis Blues 12/1
Tampa Bay Lightning 12/1
Los Angeles Kings 14/1
Minnesota Wild 14/1
Montreal Canadiens 14/1
Pittsburgh Penguins 14/1
Boston Bruins 16/1
Nashville Predators 16/1
Washington Capitals 18/1
New York Islanders 22/1
Winnipeg Jets 25/1
Columbus Blue Jackets 33/1
Detroit Red Wings 33/1
Edmonton Oilers 33/1
Calgary Flames 40/1
San Jose Sharks 40/1
Vancouver Canucks 40/1
Ottawa Senators 50/1
Colorado Avalanche 66/1
Dallas Stars 66/1
New Jersey Devils 66/1
Philadelphia Flyers 66/1
Toronto Maple Leafs 66/1
Florida Panthers 75/1
Arizona Coyotes 100/1
Buffalo Sabres 100/1
Carolina Hurricanes 100/1